My GoodWill: Tips & More

Good Morning! I’ve recently been really into thrift shopping, mostly GoodWill. It makes sense, I’ve only practically grown up in GoodWill. My grandma still works at one, I’m pretty sure she’s worked at the same one since before I was born.

image1

Here’s a photo of me, back in the day, thrifting since day one.

Here are my tips on how to score and make it worth your while.

  • Bring a drink -Nothing worse than shopping anywhere & getting hungry and phased out. I always carry my Camelbak.
  • Get in the mindset- You’ll probably be there a while so just prepare.
  • Don’t go on Saturday’s!- That’s when everyone seems to go and thus crazy packed & all the good stuff is gone. (Tuesday’s are a non busy day to go)
  • Start at the front and work your way back.
  • Look through everyyyyything.-Even if it’s not your size. Things are sized differently & sometimes things get put in the wrong spot.
  • If it’s too big but you love it-BUY IT. You can get it tailored. Worth it for the $4 you spent for it.
  • Always look back! -I go way too much 😛
  • Go to multiple locations!

 

The best time to buy sweaters &  coats is during the Summer! Which makes sense since everyone is getting rid of them because it’s warm. They have the most section of them during the summer seasons. I’m all set for fall/winter because I bought during the summer. Dishes are a great thing to get/look for at GW. They always have a ton! and you can mix & match or sometimes they’ll have a whole set.

Things I always look at/buy: sweaters, running shorts, bags (If there’s one thing to know about me it’s that I LOVE PURSES), coats, skirts, tanks.

Being a Young Adult is hard enough and I LOVE to shop but, it’s not always in the budget. So if I can thrift shop and fill my home & closet, then so be it!  No shame! 🙂  I love me a good bargain, supporting a good cause and buying things that are new to me! As long as you like what you are wearing & it makes you feel confident,that’s all that matters.

If you liked this or have any of your own tips, please let me know!

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 9.05.53 AM

 

Leave a Reply

